Thoroughbred Sportscars Rotating Header Image

THE FINAL ROUND – Snetterton MGCC 1st October 2016

The last race of the 2016 Season brought us back to the Snetterton 200 circuit with the MGCC.    Checking the weather all week did show that Saturday would be wet and it rained during the Friday/Saturday night but we awoke to cloudy but dry conditions so we were hopeful that the rain had passed us by.img_3684

Qualifying was at 11.30 and although there had been 23 entered originally – fantastic – only twenty managed to take part in qualifying with Ian Prior and Paul Khouri having terminal engine problems in the BCV8 qualifying session.

Angus Dent on the second lap coming round what is now called Murrays, but we all know it at Russell Bend, made contact with the high curb which threw him up and over landing on his roof and staying there.  Qualifying red flagged and Angus removed himself from the car.  Walking away completely unhurt and the car itself only had a shattered screen and a remodelled hardtop.  Angus though calling it a day.

Qualifying resumed and completed nine laps with Pole going to E class Russell McCarthy with a 1.20.175 alongside James Wheeler with Rob Spencer and Neil Fowler on row two.

Row three Class B Pole Mark Scott with 1.27.032 although Mark’s car was back on his trailer with a problem but there was Class D Pole Ken Deamer with 1.27.193.  Row four guest driver Chris Edwards on a 1.27 683 as the Pole-sitter for Class C (without points) alongside Babak Farsian.

Row five Barry Holmes and Martin Barrow and on row six Jim Bryan and Kathy Sherry.  On row seven Simon Cripps and Ben White and on row eight Paul Rayment and Clive Gimson.

Finishing the field Hayleigh Spencer, Steve Lockhart and Phil Lambe.

By the race however, which had a late start at 17.10, after the weather had really taken a turn and an horrendous storm had flooded the track during some earlier races and caused a few cars to withdraw.  When the grid formed up we were short of Russell McCarthy, Martin Barrow as well as Mark Scott and Angus Dent, putting the grid down to sixteen.



img_1651copyA drying track saw only three left in the class and from the lights Rob Spencer took immediate control with Neil Fowler hard on his tail where he stayed for four laps before Rob had a moment and Neil took the lead until in his mirrors he saw the fast approaching James Wheeler. James had started from the pit lane but pulling up through the field to third by lap two but nine seconds behind Neil.  By lap five he was on Neil’s tailpipe and by lap seven James had passed to take control to the flag.  Neil however having an off and re-joining further down the field some 40 seconds behind.

The finishing order James, Rob and Neil.  James getting driver of the race award from the commentators.

Class D

img_1647copyFrom the lights Jim Bryan stole the class lead from Ken Deamer to take it to the lights pulling away from the rest of the class gaining fastest lap in the process.  Ken Deamer keeping in second with a fast approaching Paul Rayment, Paul catching him by lap eight as Ken found something hard to damage his nearside front while Paul carried on to the flag.  Behind Hayleigh had a few close laps with Barry Holmes, Barry keeping just in front to the flag.

Well done Jim a good show.


Only four in the class.  Guest Chris Edwards dived through to tag on behind the leaders in fourth overall where here remained to the flag, not sure what tyres he had on or what engine he had but whatever they were they were good and he drove well.

img_1690copyKathy Sherry got a great start to keep just in front of Ben White to the flag never more than a few seconds away from each other. Kathy bringing home the Championship class with a fastest lap but second on the road, Ben second in class and finishing the field Phil Lambe.   Well done Chris, come back in 2017 and race more often.


Four out in the class for the race with Babak Farsian and Simon Cripps up front Simon just not able to get to Babak by the flag but gaining fastest lap in the process.  Steve Lockhart expired on lap two leaving Clive Gimson to bring home the class in the GT6. Well done Babak.img_1844copy

Congratulations to James Wheeler for his overall and Class E Win.

To Jim Bryan for his Class D Win

To Kathy Sherry for her Class C Win and

To Babak Farsian for his Class B Win

Pam McCarthy Coordinator


Comments are closed.