Thoroughbred Sportscars Rotating Header Image


Silverstone the Flagship of the M G Car Club season a meeting for all MG supporters to gather and meet up again.   The Thoroughbred race has usually been scheduled for Saturday but with the influx of other Championships to the MGCC’s premier meeting Thoroughbreds and some other MG Championships have been moved on to the second day.

We have raced on the Silverstone GP circuit in three different formats since 2010.  In 2010 we had 37 and we had a double header.  Since then the Arena Circuit in 2011 40 grid and 2012 33 grid.  From  2013 with a 32 grid we moved on to the Silverstone Historic GP and for 2014 31 grid, 2015 29 grid and this year we only managed 20 and were amalgamated with the Cockshoot cup.

We were scheduled for first qualifying on Sunday morning but when we assembled the weather was a disappointing mist over the whole circuit. Instead of waiting a few minutes it was decided that the drivers set off behind the Safety car which most of the drivers wondered why because as soon as the qualifying started the drivers could see way in advance, most saying they could see up to four marshal points immediately.

The Safety Car however did not pull in for four laps.  I had been called over to the Clerks’ office to discuss the grid order but as I went up the stairs and looked out over the circuit I could see everything and was told I was no longer needed as we could have a couple of flying laps.

These two flying laps gave us the grid positions:

Overall race and Class E James Wheeler on a 2.24.651 alongside Neil Fowler on row one.  Row two Rob Spencer and Simon Cripps and on row three Russell McCarthy.

Row five Class D Pole Jordan Spencer with 2.35.263 and on row eight Class C Pole Alan Charlton with 2.41.939.  Row ten Jim Bryan and Barry Holmes and on row fourteen Paul Khouri alongside Martin Barrow.  Row fifteen Class B Pole Steve Lockhart and on row sixteen Rob Roodhouse.  On row eighteen Bob Lines and Phil Lambe and on row nineteen Simon Alexander and Kathy Sherry.

Finishing off the Thoroughbred running order were Roy Chamberlain and Brian Playford.

MGCC Motoring Classics Thoroughbred Sportscars Championship with MGCC Cockshoot Cup  - Report by MGCC Leanne Fahy

A foggy start to the day meant qualifying for the combined Thoroughbred Sports Car and Cockshoot Cup outing was hampered, with just a few flying laps to set the best times. By the arrival of race one, the sun was shining and the temperature had definitely risen.M07A7085

The Thoroughbred Sports Cars took over the front half of the field, with James Wheeler at the helm. With a three second cushion by race end, Wheeler was able to defend his crown unchallenged, ahead of Neil Fowler in runner up spot.

Fowler’s race was less simple, when the charging Rob Spencer launched an attack for second place. As the pair battled, a side by side moment for position made for interesting viewing. The action soon simmered, however, when Spencer found himself by the wayside just three laps from the chequered flag.

With clear space behind him, Fowler claimed a comfortable second place, ahead of Russell McCarthy and Mark Halstead.

Cockshoot Cup honours saw Gary Wetton sweep to victory. After suffering with kidney stones on Friday, Wetton recovered enormously to race at Silverstone this weekend. Despite his ailments, he claimed a clear win in race one.

A race long battle saw Wetton struggle for control, as he and Philip Standish swapped positions multiple times. However, as Standish encountered trouble that forced him out of the running, Wetton went on to claim an untroubled victory. Former MG Trophy racer Ross Makar made his mark on the Cockshoot Cup this weekend with second place in race one, some 37 seconds ahead of Ashley Woodward. Jason Simm featured heavily in the mid race scraps on circuit, before crossing the finish line in a strong fourth place.

David Coulthard had looked good for a sound result, before he returned to the pits just five laps from the chequered flag. The Cockshoot Cup returned on their own for race two, and it was Ross Makar who claimed the spoils this time around. Fierce competition announced itself in the form of Wetton, as Makar tried his best to fend him off. After 20 minutes of high speed action, the chequered flag rescued Makar, to crown him victor by just 0.6 seconds ahead of Wetton.

Woodward steered his way to third place, albeit some 34 seconds adrift. Jonathan Harker collected fourth place, with Ian Winstanley fifth. Coulthard recovered from his race one woes to claim sixth place in race two.

Congratulations to the Thoroughbred Race Winners

Class E Overall James Wheeler

To Class D winner Jordan Spencer

To Class C winner Alan Charlton

To Class B winner Steve Lockhart


Comments are closed.