Thoroughbred Sportscars Rotating Header Image

OULTON PARK INT. 6th Sept Penultimate Round

OP14_6650Although I wasn’t actually there in body I was glued to the TSL Live Timing screen and so with a little help from some interesting in car videos and the Live timing screen my report on the race is as follows:

There were seventeen drivers entered to race all who travelled to Oulton Park to compete in the penultimate round of the Thoroughbred Championship’s Season at the MGCC meeting on the International circuit. There were two TR4’s, one Morgan, one Midget and thirteen MGB’s in various guises.

The weather forecasts had been variable all week some showing showers and all showing cloudy conditions. On the day the rain kept away but the clouds were abundant and I was reliably informed by Steve Carr that it was cold.  Here in Banstead the Sun shone occasionally so I was definitely in the best place.


All seventeen drivers took to the track and the only definite casualty was Michael Hunter who was out in his TR4 but had terminal problems and could not make the race.   Russell McCarthy came in after four  laps believing he had done enough but hadn’t bargained for brother Spencer pulling out an extra 100th of a second to take pole.

The fifteen minute qualifying session on the 2.6920 mile circuit was in cloudy and dry conditions and was last on the practice schedule and started at 11.10.

Overall and Class D Pole went as mentioned to Spencer McCarthy in the V8 ROY with a 1.54.407 who sat alongside brother Russell who had managed a 1.54.593.  Row two Simon Cripps with a 1.56.243 alongside Neil Fowler with 1.56.428 and on row three Ian Prior with 1.57.409 alongside Class C Pole Ken Deamer on 2.01.267.

Row four, Rob Spencer on a 2.02.032 alongside Lawrence Wood with a 2.02.437. On row five Class B Pole Babak Farsian on a 2.04.959 alongside Chris Edwards on a 2.05.175.   Row six Mark Scott with a 2,06.536 next to Paul Khouri with a 2.07.463 and on row seven Kathy Sherry on a 2.07.734 next to Richard Wilson on a 2.12.009.  Row eight Ben White on a 2.13.595 alongside Class A contender Martyn Clews on a 2.16 160 and finishing the grid the vacant spot for Michael Hunter.


From the lights Spencer McCarthy dived away with brother Russell second and OP14_6634Neil Fowler third, behind Simon Cripps in fourth and the remainder of the field.  When they returned to the start finish Spencer was still firmly in charge with Russell lying second but Simon Cripps had pulled past Neil to take third and now Neil was fourth and Ian Prior brought up the rear for the D Class.

Rob Spencer had established himself in sixth overall and heading the C Class just in front of Babak Farsian heading class B with Lawrence WoodOP14_6658 and Ken Deamer just a length behind.   Next as they crossed the line to start lap two Mark Scott and Chris Edwards with Ben White and Kathy Sherry, Paul Khouri, Richard Wilson and Martyn Clews finishing the field.OP14_6700




Class D

OP14_6631Spencer continued to hold off Russell to the flag despite a last lap charge by Russell but he was just unable to overhall Spencer but in his attempt managed fastest lap and lap record. Simon Cripps tried his best to catch Russell and remained in third to the flag enjoying the race and beaming from ear to ear (I am told)OP14_6636

Neil Fowler held off Ian Prior for four laps until Ian dived through to take fourth in class where he remained to the flag

Class C

Rob Spencer took control from the line with Lawrence Wood and Ken Deamer next in class, OP14_6660Ken pulling himself up to take class lead by lap three.   Rob Spencer managed to keep sights on Ken for the whole race but Lawrence took a detour on lap three and ended up at the back of the field.  Chris Edwards, Paul Khouri and Kathy Sherry all were all lapping in similar times but had a few seconds gap between them by the flag. OP14_6644Ben White had a lonely class race but managed a few close laps with Richard Wilson from class B


Class B

Only three out in the class and a great start from Babak Farsian to come round seventh overall on lap one. Mark Scott followed OP14_6640Babak on the circuit but had a job to catch him but had a good race and ended up just a second behind by the flag.

Richard Wilson a late entry to the Championship felt himself outclassed but had a few close laps with a class C car Ben White.


Class A

Martyn Clews out in his Spridget was a lonely contender as the only A Class driver out but had a great race and is a welcome addition to the Championship.

Congratulations to Spencer McCarthy for his Overall and Class D win

To Ken Deamer for his Class C win

To Babak Farsian for his Class B

To Martyn Clews for bringing in Class A

Pam McCarthy, Coordinator




Comments are closed.