Thoroughbred Sportscars Rotating Header Image

ROUND 7 CASTLE COMBE, 12th July 2014

Snett2012_BJ6A4107Motoring Classics Thoroughbred race was on Sunday 12th July at a very sunny Castle Combe at a mixed Castle Combe and Classic Sportscar meeting.  We had sixteen entries including two X invitation drivers on the day and our fifteen minute qualifying commenced at 10.55.  The 25 minute Race was scheduled at No. 6 on the afternoons programme due to commence at 16.15.   Entered were seven Class D, Six Class C, one class B and two Class A.   Class B numbers fell down when Chairman Colin Jones was let down with some engine parts and Mike Mason withdrawing with his Roadster having gearbox problems.


The fifteen minute qualifying on the 1.8500 mile Castle Combe circuit was in bright and sunny conditions and sixteen drivers took to the track.   On lap one of qualifying Neil Fowler in the MGBGT V8 had a massive engine blow up and drenched the circuit in oil.  Red flags came out and the session was stopped.

The track was cleared and the oil mopped up and the remaining fifteen drivers assembled to restart the qualifying.  This time fifteen drivers managed to have a decent start but on lap two Russell McCarthy came in with a recurrence of the fuel starvation issue that he had at Silverstone.

Prior SpencerPole Position went to Class D Ian Prior on 1.20.291 alongside Rob Spencer on 1.20 567.  Row Two, Class C Pole Ken Deamer on 1.21.102 alongside Jonnie Wheeler on 1.21.908.  On Row three Jordan Spencer on 1.23.232 alongside B Class Pole Mark Scott on a 1.23.744.  On row four a welcome return to Kathy Sherry with a 1.25.760 in her Morgan + 8 alongside Paul Khouri on a 1.26.760 in the BGTV8.  On Row five Simon Cripps out in the borrowed red V8 of Barry Holmes on a 1.27.279 alongside Ben White on a 1.28.054.

Row six XA Class Pole Jon Sandilands in his MGB FIA on a 1.28.459 alongside the troubled Russell McCarthy who had only managed 1.28.684 during his short practice and on row seven Ivan Hayward new boy to Thoroughbreds in his MGB FIA on a 1.29.917 alongside the E type of Martin Barrow on a 1.29.959.  Finishing the field, Phil Lambe in his TR6 with 1.30.187.


Lights went out and the two cars of Rob Spencer and Ian Prior stormed away but from the sixth row Russell McCarthy dived up through the ranks to take third overall as they crossed the line on the return back to pass the start finish.  The order remained with Rob firmly out in front then Ian and Russell.

By lap five Russell had pulled past Ian to take second overall but Ian hounded him for ten laps to the flag just unable to pass.  However he would probably have tried harder had he known that Russell only had fourth gear from lap two after his clutch slave cylinder expired.   Simon Cripps down the field in the Red V8 had a lonely class race but enjoyed the experience of a race finish.   Martin Barrow in the E Type had a good dice for a few laps with Kathy Sherry in the Morgan, Martin pulling off on lap sixteen.

Rob Spencer pulled away from Russell and Ian by nine seconds at the flag to take the Overall and Class D win.

Behind, Ken Deamer took the C Class lead from lights to flag pulling away steadily without any close challenge.

The exciting battle of the class was with Jonnie Wheeler and Jordan Spencer who had a near lights to flag dice, Jonnie taking charge for the majority of the race but Jordan challenging and taking the lead on lap sixteen just being re-challenged and losing out on the last lap.  Kathy Sherry in the Morgan had a few close laps with Martin Barrow in the E Type and Mark Scott and Ben White before she pulled away, while at the back of the field the lights to flag close race between C Class Phil Lambe and A class newcomer Ivan Hayward and Jon Sandilands finally finished with Phil getting the best advantage and crossing the line just in front of Jon and Ivan.


Rob Spencer for his Overall and Class D win.

To Ken Deamer for his Class C Win

To Mark Scott for his Class B Win

To Jon Sandilands for his Class AX Win


Comments are closed.