Thoroughbred Sportscars Rotating Header Image

MGCC Silverstone Live Round 5 – 23rd June 2012

The fifth round of the Motoring Classics Thoroughbred Championship for 2012 was at Silverstone Arena GP circuit just two weeks before the British Grand Prix on the 8th July.   I do hope we have a few hot sunny days to dry out the paddocks and infields or there will be some pretty muddy feet.   The forecast appeared to be wet for the weeks up to Silverstone Live but heavy showers intermingled with cloudy skies was the day’s conclusion however, both practice and race were in bright and dry conditions.

As usual for the MGCC’s premier round numbers were high with thirty three entries and all MGA competitors would be included in the MGA Race, a separate category that has been going for a few years.  We had four Class A cars, Nine Class B, Fourteen Class C and Six Class D.  Among these numbered five, who had Registered for this race with no points or awards.


Practice started at 9.30 and thirty three drivers completed practice with only a few problems. Grahame Bull in the E Type Jaguar only managed four laps before coming in as did Spencer McCarthy out in Dads V8 that had been rebooted and fitted with new brakes but had developed a pedal box malfunction.  Roger Connel finally managed to be on track after another few hours trying to sort out various problems forgot to add fuel but luckily he was still running mechanically so would be out in the race.

Clio’s Josh Files entered as an Invitation Class C TR6 again managed to put himself on Pole with a 2.27.658 alongside Ken Paton in his Ram D Type on a 2.28.412.  Row Two, D Class Pole Simon Cripps in his MGBGTV8 on 2.29.401 next to Andy Green in the Morgan +8 on a 2.30.015 with row three being occupied by Rob Spencer alongside Russell McCarthy in their MGBGTV8’s.

Row four Ian Prior alongside Jon Ellison’s vacant spot, his TR6 developing clutch problems and on Row five (Inv) Paul Conway in the Morgan +8 alongside (Inv) Graham Bull in the E Type.   Row six Spencer McCarthy and Tim Falce and row seven Barry Holmes and Ulrich Vierhaus who says this is definitely his last race (we shall see Ulrich!).  On row eight B Class Pole Joe Parrington and Richard Abels and on row nine Sharlie Goddard and John Yea.

Row ten Babak Farsian and Neil Cawthorn and on row eleven Bob Lines and Colin Jones.  On row twelve Neil Fowler and Jeff Hooper and row thirteen Mark Scott and Alan Charlton.  Row fourteen Ben White and Alan Kyson and on row fifteen Roger Connel and Bob Innes Ker and on the penultimate row the A Class of Inv David Lamyman, Brian Playford, with row seventeen (Inv) Andrew Moore and Peter Hiscocks who had practiced out of session.


Lights extinguished and from the commentary Simon Cripps took immediate lead but from row six Spencer McCarthy came through to take second place with a massive slide and the TR of Josh Files and the D type of Ken Paton all went down to the Hanger Straight nose to tail.  By the time they arrived at Brooklands the order was Simon Cripps, Ken Paton, Spencer McCarthy, Rob Spencer, Josh Files, Andy Green, Russell McCarthy and Grahame Bull.    

Around the circuit the positions at the front changed several times with Josh then Ken then Simon and then on the return to Brooklands Spencer McCarthy had powered past to taken the lead where he remained for five laps being hassled by Ken. The battle for second and third behind had been electrifying with Josh driving superbly biding his time and Simon Cripps and Rob Spencer having a great battle until Rob spun and re-joined at Brooklands Corner,  leaving Andy Green to take on his task.

By lap five positions were changing and Ken  Paton passed Spencer McCarthy to take the overall lead soon followed by Josh Files who nibbled away at Ken taking race lead by lap ten to take the field home and eventually take the Overall Win.  Behind the class battles had continued through the whole race but stringing out with Andy Green heading the D class with Simon Cripps and Ian Prior a few lengths behind.

A mid field battle lasting the whole race between Babak Farsian MGB, Neil Cawthorn MGA  and John Yea MGB all three keeping in touch for the whole race with Neil finally reeling in Babak on lap seven and staying in front to the flag, Neil achieving driver of the race for his efforts and first MGA home gaining him the Longstanding Watkinsons Trophy.

Another race long dice between the Gulf coloured MGBGTV8 of Joe Parrington and the Morgan V8 of Sharlie Goddard with Sharlie powering past on lap ten just managing the win by .100 by the flag and Joe taking the Class B Win and a new lap record.

Overall race Winner Josh Files crossed the line after 13 laps but the flag was forgotten and taken by Ken Paton who came home in second place overall but in effect was the Championship race winner as Josh was out on Invitation, Josh also breaking his own Lap Record held from 2011.

The race overran slightly and some drivers ran out of fuel, some just didn’t have big enough tanks but others had counted on a 30 minute race but with a 3.6604 mile green flag lap it ended up as 35 minutes.  Spencer McCarthy retired on lap 12 after fighting with his brakes for the whole race having to pump them every time to make sure they were there.   Ben White and Neil Fowler ran out of fuel, Jeff Hooper and Alan Charlton had an accident at The Loop and parked up, Russell McCarthy had a broken throttle linkage, Colin Jones had no oil pressure and Bob Lines found the pit wall on the new GP pits on the first lap.

Congratulations go to Josh Files for Overall Race Win

Class D             1st Andy Green           2nd Simon Cripps        3rd Ian Prior

Class C             1st Ken Paton             2nd Rob Spencer         3rd Tim Falce

Class B             1st Joe Parrington      2nd Neil Cawthorn      3rd Babak Farsian

Class A             David Lamyman (INV)        1st  Brian Playford      Andrew Moore (INV)

Pam McCarthy


Comments are closed.