Thoroughbred Sportscars Rotating Header Image

Round 1 – Brands Hatch (MGCC) – 9 April 2011


MGCC Saturday 9th & Sunday 10thApril 2011.

Round 1

Brands Hatch saw lots of familiar faces for the first meeting of the Season for the Motoring Classics Thoroughbred Sportscar Championship. The weather was very kind to us and the circuit was bathed in hot sunshine for our 30 minute second race of the day scheduled for just before lunch.

Numbers were small compared to some of our meetings in 2010 with only sixteen entered as our normal gathering of Morgans were depleted to only two who were pleased with the early race time allowing them to travel up to Snetterton where they were to compete in the Morgan Challenge first round the next day.

The majority of the Saturday’s races were non MGCC events consisting of Porsche GT3, HRDC Grand Touring Greats, Equipe GTS and a double header for the MG Trophy. The Thoroughbred practice started at 9.20 and all drivers completed their practice but there were quite a few problems. The main MGCC Championship races were to be on Sunday.


Practice was reasonably successful for most of the competitors However, would-be Poleman Simon Garrad in his D Type replica had major engine problems and returned to the paddock after eleven laps to return home early. Sharlie Goddard completed practice but found she had a split in her fuel tank so also retired taking an early trip to Snetterton to find Phillip who was now upgraded to the top Morgan class. Ben White in his MGB V8 had clutch problems and retired on lap three also unable to compete.

Russell McCarthy out for the first time in the yellow MGA only managed five laps when the half shaft gave out but a borrowed shaft put him back on the grid. Simon Cripps in the MGBGTV8 had fuel problems which were sorted just in time for the start, so all together a difficult set of circumstances for the first race of the Season.

The grid now reduced to thirteen with C class Jon Ellison in his TR6 taking the outside of the front row with a 55.397 with Jerry Knight in his D Type Jag on the inside of row two with a 55.630 next to Simon Cripps MGBGTV8 on a 56.457.

Row three saw D class Roger Whiteside in his Morgan Roadster with a 57.101 alongside the MGBGTV8 of Rob Spencer with a 57.120. On row four B class Peter Barnard in his Elva Courier with a 57.258 alongside B/D class Russell McCarthy in the ‘hairy canary’ MGA on a 57.360.

Row five saw the vacant spot for Sharlie but the D Type Rep of Tim Falce with a 57.782. Row six Colin Jones in the Twin Cam MGA on a 58.218 alongside Championship sponsor John Yea in his FIA spec MGB on a 58.446. On row seven, new to Thoroughbreds Ian Prior in his MGB with a 58.930 alongside Bob Lines in his MGA on a 59.170 and finishing off the grid a late welcome entry by Peter Hiscocks with a 1.01.293 in his MGA.


The red lights dimmed and Jerry Knight from the second row stormed off to lead the field with Jon Ellison following him through Paddock and up to Druids followed by Simon Cripps, Rob Spencer, Tim Falce and Roger Whiteside.  Next the class B field of Russell McCarthy, Peter Barnard, Colin Jones, Ian Prior, John Yea and Bob Lines with Peter Hiscocks completing the field.

Jerry Knight pulled away for the first few laps from Jon Ellison but Jon kept pace and was never more than a second or two behind waiting to take advantage of a slip. His wait was not in vain for as Jerry exited Clearways on lap 19 he disappeared into a cloud of dust and Jon continued for the remaining seven laps to take the win after a well driven but lonely race four seconds in front by the flag.

Behind for most of the race great battles were taking place firstly with Simon Cripps, Rob Spencer and Russell McCarthy. Russell working his way up through the field to third by lap eleven to just hold off Simon who was never more than a second in his wake, Rob also fighting hard and keeping close in touch. There was some hard racing from Tim Falce and Roger Whiteside, Tim keeping Roger at bay for most of the race. Colin Jones and Ian Prior having a race long close dice Ian passing Colin on lap sixteen but hounded Ian to the flag.

It all went wrong for some, for which Jerry sincerely apologises, as once he was off circuit and before he was ‘cleared up’ out came the Pace Car on lap 20 and everybody closed up and gave the chasers a chance, Simon Cripps couldn’t get it together so slipped down to fifth with Rob taking third overall by the flag, Roger Whiteside passed Tim to come home fourth.

Congratulations go

To Jon Ellison for his Overall and Class C win and Lap Record,
To Roger Whiteside for his Class D win
To Russell McCarthy for his Class B win, (he is being upgraded to Class D for Oulton Park)
To Peter Hiscocks for his Class A win


Class A
Peter Hiscocks 1.00.397

Class B
Russell McCarthy 56.710
Peter Barnard FL 56.937
Ian Prior 57.929
Colin Jones 58.084
John Yea 58.877
Bob Lines 1.00.419

Class C
Jon Ellison 55.144 FL/LR
Rob Spencer 56.901
Simon Cripps 56.829
Tim Falce 57.301
Jerry Knight 55.446 DNF

Class D
Roger Whiteside 56.863

Pam McCarthy



Comments are closed.