Thoroughbred Sportscars Rotating Header Image

November, 2008:

Review of the 2008 Season

Another great Season for the Championship with the final results going down to the wire once again.  The 2008 Season was as exciting as the 2007 with well turned out cars, friendly competitors and above all good driving standards.

In 2008 the MGCC Thoroughbred Sportscar Championship competed over ten rounds at six different circuits and included our first double header at Cadwell Park.  There were 76 registered drivers of whom 63 actually raced. The average race finish over the ten rounds of the season was a fantastic 26 topping the leader board for the M.G. Car Club Championships.

The final result went down to the last round at Snetterton once again and looked very hopeful for the existing 2006 and 2007 Champion Mike Hazlewood.  However, a rank outsider Peter Samuels was on a mission, leading the B class, but needing a considerable amount of luck to gain the overall Championship.

Mike had been experiencing problems with his TR6 and so had come out for the last two rounds of the Season in his TR4 but he was some seven points in front and on a certainty for his third overall Thoroughbred Championship win in a row – but nothing is certain!!

Mike however hadn’t reckoned on the D type Jags who had their day with Ken Paton (1), Jerry Knight (3), Peter Dubsky (4), Tim Falce (5), and the Morgan of Tony Rivers (2) all coming home in front of him.

On the day both Peter Samuels and Mike Hazlewood both topped the leader board with 59 points, however Mike had a round to drop and Peter didn’t so Peter Samuels took the 2008 Championship Honours by one point, 59 to Mikes 58.

The Standard A class, again the smallest class with only 4 competitors, saw the two main class contenders Martin Lewis FIA MGB Class A Winner and Peter Hiscocks MGA second in Class A.  Martin running lonely races as the only competitor at three of the rounds but Peter Hiscocks and Brian Playford third in Class A joining him at Silverstone International and towards the end of the Season.

Class B Road Modified saw 22 competitors and had Peter Samuels MGB taking the Class, winning seven of the nine rounds he competed in. Colin Jones MGA came home second in class B having a few engine problems during the Season and Joe Parrington in the gulf coloured Std MGBV8 taking third in B class.

The again highly contested Class C was where 27 drivers had entered the Championship and we watched the mixtures of all the TR’s, D. Type Jags replicas, Couger, Morgans + 8 and Roadsters, Lotus Elan S4 and an Alfa Romeo fighting to see who would make their ‘marque’.  The 2006 and 2007 Champion Mike Hazlewood out again for eight rounds in his TR6 and two rounds in his TR4 took enough points to hold his C class Win but with strong attacks by the Morgans and D Types making his dominance of the class more difficult.  Ken Paton taking his D type Ram to class wins at four of the rounds and giving him second in C Class followed home by the D Type Rep of Tim Burnett third in C class.

The powerful D class with 10 competitors was dominated in 2008 by the Morgans.  Chris Acklam coming home first in class D and third overall in the Championship, Tony Lees second in Class D, having great battles each time they were together, Peter Henry third in Class D doing exceedingly well at Silverstone International.  Roger Connel coming home in fifth position in his pretty TVR.  An accident for Andy Green took him out for most of the Season returning for the last two rounds and Roy McCarthy had a massive engine failure at the first race of the year and retired promising to be back out in 2009.

Pam McCarthy
Championship Coordinator

2008 Results

1 Peter Samuels MGB Roadster 59
2 Mike Hazlewood TR6/TR4 58
3 Chris Acklam Morgan Plus 8 56
Class A
1 Martin Lewis FIA MGB 24
2 Peter Hiscocks MGA 23
3 Brian Playford MGB 10
Class B
1 Peter Samuels MGB Roadster 59
2 Colin Jones MGA 50
3 Joe Parrington MGB GT V8 45
Class C
1 Mike Hazelwood TR6 58
2 Ken Paton D Type Ram Jag 47
3 Tim Burnett D Type Rep 33
Class D
1 Chris Acklam Morgan Plus 8 56
2 Tony Lees Morgan Plus 8 43
3 Peter Henry Morgan Plus 8 25